Select Page

14jan4:30 pmNürnberger Symphoniker: Schubert, Lindberg, Sibelius

Event Details


Franz Schubert: Fierrabras, Overture D 796
Magnus Lindberg: Clarinet Concerto
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 2 in D major op. 43

Sebastian Manz, clarinet
der Nürnberger Symphoniker

The Financial Times described him as “one of the most exciting composers of his generation” – Magnus Lindberg, born in Helsinki in 1958, like Sibelius also a Finn. As with the Old Master, Lindberg’s work focuses on symphonic and concertante orchestral works. His Clarinet Concerto is an ambitious, exciting, touching work. At times poetic and atmospheric, then it lets frightening visions of the apocalypse rise, and it also picks up speed, especially in the extremely virtuoso solo part. Our soloist, clarinet star Sebastian Manz, is a congenial interpreter of this work. He makes the nervously pulsating rhythms dance, revels in poetry and advances to the highest heights of his instrument. After the interval, it’s back to Romanticism with Sibelius’ Symphony No. 2, the resounding Finnish national monument par excellence. At the opening, we present the overture to Schubert’s opera Fierrabras, set in the knightly milieu of the Middle Ages. An afternoon of concerts about knights, rhythm and romance. Xyz

Kick-off 15:45 – 16:00, Concert in conversation
Concert introduction in the foyer of the Meistersingerhalle



(Sunday) 4:30 pm(GMT+00:00)


Meistersingerhalle, Nuremberg

Schultheißallee 2, Nuremberg 90478

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *